School of Health and Society

Latest News

What if increasing the amount of physical activity each day could improve children’s learning?

If you are sitting very still, then we can begin. Actually, scratch that. Stand up, stretch, move around. Then come back, with your brain in gear, and we can begin.

Read Get up and move to improve children’s learning (UOW The Stand Article)



Helping an ageing population grow old with dignity is possible, if we rethink our approach to aged-care policy and create dementia-friendly communities.

Dr Lyn Phillipson, a UOW public health researcher, says the heightened interest in dementia care is due to the aging of the population and increased awareness of the condition.

Read The baby boomer legacy: building dementia-friendly communities (UOW The Stand)


UOW Criminology Society

The Criminology discipline in the School of Health and Society is pleased to announce the creation of the UOW Criminology Society, led by a highly motivated group of undergraduate students with support from Dr Juan Tauri. The inaugural Society President, Alecia Bof, says - “The recent creation of the UOW Criminology Society has been received well by students and has all exceeded expectations. The society’s aim is to provide support to all Criminology students enrolled at the university. We hope to provide opportunities that extend into career development, academic and social support, networking and engagement with the wider criminology community. There are currently 30 members and we look forward to increasing this number again in the new academic year.” Well done to all involved, it is great to see a strong cohort come together to create a fantastic network for our students.

Research Success

Dr Vinod Gopaldasani, Dr Alison Bell, Dr Bridget Kelly and Mrs Jane Whitelaw, researchers from the Work Health and Safety academic program, have successfully secured funding to conduct a lifestyle intervention research among Chilean high altitude mining workers to improve their wellbeing and decrease musculoskeletal injuries. The research titled “Improving health and safety outcomes in Chilean miners: a lifestyle intervention program to improve wellbeing and decrease musculoskeletal injuries” received a grant of $208,000 from the Chilean government. The research will take place over the next two years.

Congratulations 2017 Vice-Chancellor Award Recipients

Vice-Chancellor’s Award Research Excellence Award for Emerging Researcher
Dr Xiaoqi Feng

Vice-Chancellor’s Award Interdisciplinary Research Excellence Award
A/Professor Kate Senior, Ms Laura Grozdanovski, Professor Geoff Spinks - Project: Project Geldom: Designing the Next-Generation Condom

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Community Engagement (Team)
CHI Sexual Health Project Team - Associate Professor Kate Senior

Full list of Vice-Chancellor’s Awards Recipients: 2017.


  • Read Big Food and corporate social responsibility: marketing or public good? (UOW The Stand Article).
  • NHMRC Research Leadership Fellowship awarded for ground-breaking study - A world-first study by University of Wollongong (UOW) researcher Associate Professor Thomas Astell-Burt will examine whether urban green spaces have a role to play in preventing Alzheimer’s disease.
  • Wollongong professor makes 4000km Northern Territory trek to revive Ngukurr News” (Illawarra Mercury article)
  • World Congress in Public Health (WCPH) 2017 - The Faculty of Social Sciences was well represented at the recent World Congress in Public Health (WCPH) which was held for the first time in Australia - in Melbourne - from 3-7 April 2017. The theme was Voices Vision Action and there also was a focus on the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals. Wollongong had a lead across various levels of the congress. Professor Heather Yeatman was on the National Organising committee and also co-led a workshop. Several staff have presentations including: Prof Heather Yeatman, Dr Heike Schutze, A/Prof Thomas Astell-Burt, Dr Vinod Gopaldasani and Dr Xiaoqi Feng. Faculty doctoral students also were well represented. Oral presentations were given by Amy Carrad, Limin Buchanan and Megan Hammersley. Digital posters were presented by: Amy Carrad, Sanaz Sadegholvad, and Zoe Richards. In the final Congress session, MPH alumnus Summer Finlay challenged public health professionals to consider when advocating for Indigenous engagement to ensure that the Indigenous voice is not only present, but the lead. “Nothing about us which isn’t led by us.”
  • Health and Society Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Winners! Congratulations to Amy Carrad who was the Three Minute Thesis (3MT) Faculty Winner for her outstanding oration of ‘Start here, Go there: An organisational change approach to health promoting sport’. The Runner-up was awarded to Zoe Richards for her excellent presentation of ‘Corporate social responsibility: How responsible’.
  • UOW Alumni Kate Cole granted prestigious Churchill Fellowship...





Last reviewed: 3 November, 2017