Research and Teaching Awards

Research and Teaching Awards

Michael Adams

2017 Winner of the Calibre Prize

More about Michael Adams

Thomas Birtchnell

2013 Best paper published in the journal Area for his article ‘Fill the ships and we shall fill the shops: the making of geographies of manufacturing’

More about Thomas Birtchnell

Chris Brennan-Horley

2015 Vice-Chancellor’s award for Interdisciplinary Research, University of Wollongong. Awarded for his role in: Research and Action to Pioneer Dementia-Friendly Communities and Organisations
Value $50,000, with Dr Lyn Phillipson, Dr Ellen Skladzien (Alzheimer’s Australia), Professor Richard Fleming, Professor Sandra Jones, Assoc. Professor Peter Caputi, Professor Chris Cook and Professor Andrew Bonney, Assoc. Professor Helen Hasan and Dr Chris McGee, funded through UOW Global Challenges

More about Chris Brennan-Horley

Nicole Cook

2015 Excellence in Teaching Award, School of Geography, University of Melbourne

More about Nicole Cook

Christine Eriksen

2016 Selected as University of Wollongong, Woman of Impact for outstanding contributions to research at the UOW as part of the Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) program

2015 University of Wollongong Faculty of Social Sciences Early Career Researcher Prize

2013 Selected as World Social Science ‘Risk Interpretation and Action’ Fellow by the International Social Science Council

More about Christine Eriksen

Nicholas Gill

2012 Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Community Engagement, University of Wollongong

More about Nicholas Gill

Anja Kanngieser

2017 Nomination for the Digital Music and Sound Art Award, Prix Ars Electronica

2013 Progress in Human Geography early career scholar best paper prize for her article, ‘A sonic geography of voice: Towards an affective politics’

More about Anja Kanngieser

Natascha Klocker

2016 ‘Woman of Impact’, University of Wollongong Award

More about Natascha Klocker

Gordon Waitt

2016 Vice-Chancellor’s Interdisciplinary Research Excellence Award (Highly Commended), University of Wollongong.
This award was for the ‘Energy+Illawarra Project’ that brought together the disciplinary expertise of engineers, social marketers and human geographers.

More about Gordon Waitt

Andrew Warren

2015 Winner of the Australian Society for Sport History (ASSH) Book Award for his co-authored book Surfing Places, Surfboard Makers

2015 Finalist Ka Palapala Po`okela Awards (Hawai`i Book of the Year, ‘Excellence in Nonfiction’ category)

2014 University of New England Vice Chancellor’s Commendation for Teaching Excellence at Undergraduate level (for GEPL111, GEPL112, and GEPL345)

More about Andrew Warren

Last reviewed: 17 May, 2018


Seminars Read Our Blog Follow on Twitter