School of Psychology

School of Psychology

The School of Psychology offers excellent facilities and staff which provide quality education and research opportunities. We have extensive computer facilities as well as teaching and research laboratories, all supported by a team of professional technical staff. Our undergraduate program provides a solid foundation in psychological science and can be combined with studies in a range of other disciplines.

Gold Clinics launch Golden partnership for personality disorders

 In a partnership between South Western Sydney Local Health District and UOW's Project Air Strategy for Personality Disorders, Minister for Mental Health Tanya Davies launches program for the treatment of personality disorders in south west Sydney.

Read more about Project Air and the Gold Card Clinics

School of Psychology Research Report 2016

 Our Research Report

Welcome to The School of Psychology's Research Report. This report showcases the School’s research achievements in 2016.

Read our research stories...

Anti Social Media(Anti) Social Media

Is being constantly connected via social media destroying sense of self and our ability to communicate?

Admit it, you Facebook ‘stalk’. Checking on old school mates, new colleagues, friends of friends. On Instagram, you’re deep into someone’s profile looking at posts from 18 months ago, peeking at their life trying not to bump the ‘like’ button.

Read more about (Anti) Social Media

SIM Psychology in an International Context April17Psychology in an International Context

Psychology students join up with students in Singapore who are completing the same programme at the Singapore Institute of Management (SIM).  The programme aims at promoting interaction between Wollongong-based and Singapore-based UOW Psychology students.

Read more about Psychology in an International Context

Upcoming Colloquium

Wednesday 4 October 2017
12.30 - 1.30pm
Room 41.104

Presenter: To be advised
To be advised


Please visit the School's Honours website to access selected slides for the information session held on Tuesday 25 July 2017. 


Dr Judy Pickard on the completion of her PhD

Carol Keane on being selected to be part of a pre-conference workshop at the International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies (ISTSS) 33rd Annual Meeting. This highly competitive “Paper in a Day” workshop brings together outstanding early career researchers from around the world to promote “leadership capacity building” in the field. Carol and the other ECRs will work with other leading academics in her field to produce a brief paper or commentary for a peer-reviewed journal as part of the workshop. This is a fantastic opportunity for Carol and really highlights the importance and international significance of her doctoral research to the field. Carol will also be presenting results from her doctoral research at the conference. The OSTSS conference is being held in Chicago in November this year. 

Best Lecturer A/Prof Stuart Johnstone

Best Tutor Emma Walter

As voted by students from First Session 2017